Need help choosing parts

Subhankar
Subhankar ✭✭
First Anniversary Name Dropper First Comment
edited May 2022 in Help Choosing Parts

Hi,

I hope you all are doing well!

This is the build I have in mind:

https://www.microcenter.com/site/content/custom-pc-builder-amd.aspx?load=7967c6c0-9a1b-4c73-bc00-dda624a4f301

Could you all please take a look at my build and make some suggestions? I will place the order then.

I am a Computer Science grad student. So, I mostly need this system for programming and also need a CUDA compatible GPU for some Data Science projects.

I am not into gaming at all. So that's not my focus.

Also, could you please let me know about the time duration between placing the order and when I can pick it up from the store?

Thanks a lot!

Comments

• Ian
    Ian admin
    5 Insightfuls 5 Likes First Anniversary 5 LOLs

Hello, what programs are you going to be using for this PC? I would verify you meet the requirements typically listed on the manufacturer's websites for any software you might be using, if everything checks out with them I don't see any issues with what you have picked out.

• Subhankar
    Subhankar ✭✭
    edited May 2022

Hi @Ian ,

Thanks for the response.

I will mostly be running Linux Mint (OS), some coding IDEs like PyCharm, VSCode, PyTorch/Tensorflow (need CUDA) mostly.

Do you think there might be any conflicts with the AMD CPU and NVIDIA GPU?

Is there any benefit to having an Intel CPU over a Ryzen one?

Also, could you please suggest a cooling system? Apparently the water cooling requires a lot of maintenance.

• Hey @Subhankar,

I typically go for a Radeon card in my Linux machines due to additional support, however the open-source Nvidia drivers are totally usable as well, from my limited experience. Since you need CUDA, you'll probably land on an Nvidia card. Here's a short article detailing their driver availability; (https://tinyurl.com/2p8tv648).