Safe Power Supply & Air Cooling when using Blender/Adobe Products + General Feedback

Hello! I am new to the PC building stage. Over the last few weeks, I have compiled a list of parts and I am pretty satisfied with what I have (plan is attached).

I am curious if what I have will be enough when using Blender/Adobe Products. I used Blender a bit in the past and it was VERY slow on my Dell gaming PC laptop (go figure) so Im mixing things up. Im cautious about overclocking as I have never done it before, and I am currently air-cooling my PC in the build. I will also see myself doing some gaming.

Micro Center says the estimated wattage is 617watt and I have an 850watt power supply. With my CPU and GPU draw being 125W and 650w respectively, is this a safe setup?

I feel I have done a thorough job of ensuring connections are made between components, but better safe than sorry! Any feedback on what I have chosen, its feasibility in actually building it and expecting hi-performance results would be awesome. I plan to ask in-store team too, but I wanted to start here.

Edit: Also QTY is not displayed for some reason, so 3x Noctua Fans.

Best Answer

• magarity
    magarity ✭✭✭✭
    First Anniversary 5 Up Votes First Comment First Answer
    edited June 2022 Answer ✓

That case (and any with the all glass front panel) is a poor choice unless you have some specific requirement that only it meets. Please consider getting one that's either 'Mesh' or 'Airflow'. Are you picking that because you really need an internal DVDRW? Consider an external.

The 3060 graphics card draws 170W normally and up to 200W overclocked, not 650W. An 850W power supply is waaaay plenty. You could use a 750W if the price makes a difference.

Get the 2 pack of 3600 RAM not the single pack of 3000.

Otherwise it looks like a perfectly workable list.

Answers

• Julia_V
    Julia_V ✭✭✭
    5 Likes First Anniversary First Comment First Answer

Hello there! Julia from Cambridge Micro Center here.