Windows bluescreen when overclocking ram to 5600Hz with Ryzen 7700x

makia
makia
First Comment

Hi!

This is my first time building a PC and I keep getting a bluescreen with the error: memory_management when I turn on D.O.C.P and overclock my ram to 5600 MHz.

cpu: ryzen 7700x

motherboard: Asus rog strix x670e-a gaming wifi

ram: g.skill trident z5 2x16gb ddr5 36-36-36-89 F5-5600J3636C16GX2-TZ5S

I've made sure that they are in the correct slots on the motherboard (A2 and B2) and I've tried setting/resetting them and updating the bios. The ram works fine at the auto setting in the bios (4800 MHz) and windows is stable.

Best Answer

• PowerSpec_MikeW
    PowerSpec_MikeW PowerSpec Engineer
    First Anniversary First Comment 5 Awesomes 5 Up Votes
    Answer ✓

@makia

Correct, it's going to be dialed in. Alternatively you could exchange the kit for an AMD EXPO kit and you're probably going to have better luck just loading the XMP. Those kits have been tested on the AM5 platform, and you can verify the QVL, but possibly your board.

So lets do this. First set auto, save and exit. Then load DOCP II. DOCP II is the BIOS default, I is the ASUS custom ones, they're generally tighter. When you save, screenshot all of the settings that they're changing and post them here. Before you actually save, lets walk the speed down. Lets try 5200, but don't touch the timings. We'll see if that's stable first.

Answers

• PowerSpec_MikeW

@makia

Is this happening from the start or did it start after a while?

• Hi Mike,

It usually happens during the Lock Screen after a few seconds. I have just built this computer and it’s been happening since the start of when I tried overclocking.
  • PowerSpec_MikeW

@makia