Liquid cooling for ~$1k SFF

Options
Looking to start a small form factor build to replace my Dell XPS 8940 with a 2060 and i7. I'd like to keep if around $1k and be decently portable if I want to travel with the PC. Is liquid cooling a bad option for something like this since it will potentially be mobile? I've never done a build before so not sure about the reliability of the liquid cooling components especially when it comes to moving the computer around.

Thanks!

Answers

• Shoan041
    Shoan041 ✭✭✭✭
    5 Awesomes 5 Likes 5 Insightfuls First Anniversary
    Options

Hi,

do you already have some of the parts or are you looking to build the entire computer?

• zook79
    Options
    I have some leftover parts but I think the only thing I have that I might use is an AIO cooler (https://www.microcenter.com/support/622322/corsair-hydro-series-h115i-pro-280mm-rgb-water-cooling-kit-(refurbished)) and a 750w EVGA power supply. 

I got the cooler for free and honestly it's the only reason I'm considering water cooling.

Basic build specs I'm leaning towards are here:
    https://www.microcenter.com/site/content/custom-pc-builder.aspx?load=14703343-1652-4f74-a14e-0ed28e8883ab

Only difference is if I went liquid cooled, I'd probably go 12600k and try to save some money with a second hand or open box case, gpu, or mobo.

• Shoan041
    Shoan041 ✭✭✭✭
    Options

That is a good cooler and Power supply for your build. How old is the Power supply though?

• magarity
    magarity ✭✭✭✭
    First Anniversary 5 Up Votes First Comment First Answer
    edited February 2023
    Options

Travel as in stick it in your car trunk or travel as in checked luggage?

For in the trunk, liquid cooling with an AIO works fine, custom loop with soft tubing is probably OK, hard tubing is no way.

For in checked luggage, just leave it on the front porch so someone can steal it instead.