The Best Tech for a Home Digital Art Studio

This discussion has a more recent version.

Written by @Julia_V

As technology advances, digital paintings, drawings, and illustrations are becoming more common. Personally, I’ve been working with digital art for 6 years and have developed a deep love for it, thanks in no small part to its versatility and accessibility. Traditional art materials can be very expensive, and not everybody will have the space for it. During the pandemic, I lost access to the painting studio at my university and did not have the space to set one up at home. That was when I picked up digital painting and used my iPad to finish my painting projects. To this day, digital drawing and painting continue to be one of my favorite ways of creating art. 

To help others get started in digital art – or just improve your studio! - I compiled a wide range of electronics, from computers to peripherals, that can be used for digital art. Whether you are just starting out, or thinking about going professional–there is something for you at Micro Center!

Computers and Tablets    

To get started, you would need a computer or a tablet to run your preferred digital art program. The system options are extremely flexible when it comes to illustration: it can be either Windows or Mac, and the tablet can be either Apple or Android. All illustration programs have one basic thing in common–they mimic traditional sketching and painting in a digital format.