Opinion please on a high end Unreal Engine/Editing build

Options

I'm new to building PC's, Mac guy here but I want to learn. I'm aiming for a machine to work in Unreal Engine and for editing. Reliability, speed and a reasonably quiet machine is more important than price, I can go up to $5500. I put this together. I'm especially curious about what RAM and SSD drives I should get.

https://www.microcenter.com/site/content/custom-pc-builder.aspx?load=c36511c0-6b38-4ad6-9b2c-c4214cf9c769

Thanks!

Comments

• krisM
    Options

Also, would it make more sense to get the AMD chip for max speed?

AMD - Ryzen 9 7950X3D Raphael AM5 4.2GHz 16-Core Boxed Processor

• Lambdaben
    Lambdaben ✭✭✭
    5 Likes 5 Awesomes First Anniversary 5 Insightfuls
    Options

I have 3 concerns:

1. If you plan on using the Dominator memory, you will have to manually set the D.O.C.P. profiles for AMD since the ram is not AMD EXPO certified.
    2. The Corsair H170i will not fit in that case, you would have to go down to the Corsair H150i instead.
    3. For the 2TB SSD, I would suggest something faster, such as the WD SN850X or the Samsung 990 Pro, which can generate read speeds up to 7,450MBps.

As far as the processor, the faster the processor can preform, the faster it can render objects in real-time.

• krisM
    Options

Thanks a lot. Would you have a suggestion for RAM that would make things simpler?

• krisM
    Options

I updated my list with an AMD processor. Any feedback super appreciated.

https://www.microcenter.com/site/content/custom-pc-builder.aspx?load=ef512bd5-564b-4869-88ce-798284a47d13

• Aodhan_Gorman
    Options