Pc worked fine at micro center but won't boot up at my house.

Options

Comments

• GavinT
    Options

@2070super Have you tried the PC at a friends house? At this point, I'm wondering if it's an underlying issue with your house's electricity as a whole.

• 2070super
    Options
    @GavinT I was going to try it out to see if it worked at a friends house nearby to see if that was the issue. Also having an electrician come out tomorrow to take a look. I truly have never been this stumped in my life with a pc. Do you think it’s a problem with my power and have u ever seen this happen before? Thank you for your help Gavin.
  • GavinT
    Options

Let me start with this: I am NOT an electrician and I don't claim to be! My knowledge on the matter is solely based off of my experience with micro electronics and circuits.

While I have not ran into this exact issue before, my suspicion comes from the location swap of the system. The issue seems to be dependent on your location. The PC isn't getting past the initial boot, so software won't really play a factor at this point either.

Since the PC is turning off after 3 seconds, it could be falling back on a fail safe, to stop components from getting damaged. Now the exact reason why that's happening could stem from a few different things. If it just simply wasn't getting enough power, I feel like you would experience this issue with other devices in the house as well. Maybe there's an issue with the incoming 120v, that your PSU is just sensitive enough to trigger a fail safe, while other devices in your home aren't?

Have you tried to use a surge protector at all? Or better yet a UPS? I would recommend using a UPS of some sorts, as it's going to offer AVR (Automatic Voltage Regulation) . This will stabilize the incoming alternating current to 120v before the power reaches your device at all, which may help.