First timer needing help building a PC

Options
  • Budget: $2K and under
  • The games or applications you wish to run: -Games: Apex Legends, Overwatch, Current Gen, and Future Gen games for the next 4-7 years
  • -Applications: Cybersecurity, Virtual Machines, Fusion 360, Autodesk, Mastercam, 3D printing applications.
  • Specific Requirements: Able to run multiple OS (Windows/Linux), Virtual machines for pen testing, etc.

Hello everyone!

I've been using my old Windows Surface Pro 4 for years, and I need to upgrade to a desktop for my next field of study into IT/Cybersecurity.

I would like to build a new PC that is capable of doing IT/Cybersecurity tasks like running VMs or crossing between different operating systems while remaining fully capable of playing current and next-gen PC games.

My budget for this build will be $2K and under, but, I have no experience building a PC and was going to just have Microcenter assemble the components for me and then pick it up.

My problem is that even using all the PC builder apps, I'm still running into either too pricey builds or components that could otherwise be cheaper and still provide the same performance expectations. There are too many parts to pick, and I tend to want to stay with mainstream components with reliability.

I will pretty much need everything including a monitor (dual monitor if possible), gaming keyboard, mouse, headset with mic, etc, to get fully situated at home. I just don't know what to stay away from, if anything, that could ruin this build.

I've been receiving mixed reviews from other sites on builds, and don't know what to believe anymore.

Can you guys help? I would be very appreciative of any feedback.

Comments

• Lambdaben
    Lambdaben ✭✭✭
    5 Likes 5 Awesomes First Anniversary 5 Insightfuls
    Options

Just to clarify, is $2K the budget for the build, monitors, keyboards, etc., Windows and the fee for building the PC?

• Dragonstrike
    Options