I need help with PC parts

Options

I am a first time PC builder and need help choosing parts for a mid end computer, around $1000-$1200. My main usage would be gaming, mostly games like Minecraft and Fortnite. I am not looking for anything fancy, just typical specs, 16-32GB of DDR4 ram is great, any CPU or GPU or motherboard is fine, but I would prefer an Nvidia GPU, an intel CPU, and for the motherboard to have built in wifi capabilities. These do not need to be met just highly requested. I also would like for it to be easily upgradable. Any advice or recommendations are greatly appreciated.

Best Answers

• magarity
    magarity ✭✭✭✭
    First Anniversary 5 Up Votes First Comment First Answer
    edited October 2023 Answer ✓
    Options

So, when you say "easily upgradeable" what did you have in mind? Intel switches the CPU socket with almost every generation. Graphics cards can be easily swapped for a new model though.

Do you need all the misc parts like a monitor and a keyboard and mouse, etc? Or just the PC in a case? Because it will be kinda hard to fit a decent monitor in and keep it under 1,200. If you already have a monitor, what resolution is it (1080p, 1440p, etc)?

Just to get a starting idea, what about something like this: https://www.microcenter.com/site/content/custom-pc-builder-intel.aspx?load=f59b459c-cc84-485e-b3ca-d160ec29fc4f

That's an i5 with a 4060 for 1000 and it would totally crush Minecraft and Fortnite. I have no idea what kind of case you like, so I picked the kind I like. I also didn't pick a CPU cooler because that one comes with a "meh" one that can definitely be upgraded but your choice. Finally, I don't know how much SSD space you need but that Crucial P5 2TB is a really great sale price right now.

• Zuua
    Zuua ✭✭
    First Answer Name Dropper Community Champion 5 Likes
    Answer ✓
    Options