Advice in determining best fit between 2 gaming laptop models?

Options

Hi all!

My current laptop has been on its last legs for awhile and I decided that over the holidays I was going to take the time to research my options and finally get myself a new laptop for the new year. Over the last few days, I've done a crash course in researching specs and comparing costs, and I've narrowed things down to two models that Microcenter offers that I'm trying to decide between: the Lenovo Legion 5 and the ASUS TUF Gaming A15. I'm aware that there are nicer or more powerful models, but I'm aiming to spend around $1k or less, including an extended warranty.

For consideration: I'm more of a console gamer, but I have some friends that play games online like Deep Rock Galactic and I was recently gifted Baldur's Gate 3 over Steam. I'd like a laptop that can handle playing either of these games and being on a discord call, or potentially streaming over discord. I'm also a writer and often take my laptop with me places, so I'd want this to be reasonably portable and fit into an average-sized backpack. These will be its primary uses, but I'm hoping to also get into some casual photo or video editing in the future.

Right now, the specs seem pretty comparable so I'm torn between the two because the Lenovo seems to have a slightly better display, but the ASUS Tuf seems to be a lighter, more portable build. Anyone have any additional insight to help tip the scales? Thanks to anyone who responds!

Best Answer

• ronwoodson
    ronwoodson Store Associate
    5 Awesomes First Answer 5 Likes First Anniversary
    Answer ✓
    Options