Critique my proposed build

I current have a 4-year-old Dell OptiPlex 5070 that I've outgrown. I decided to go the custom route for future expandability. This is my first build (may as well get the full experience!), so I want a case that's easy to build in. (Though I did have a lot of experience back in the day digging around inside IBM PCs and ATs.)

I mainly do software development and content creation (think YouTube), so the most compute-intensive thing I do is video editing. I want something I'll be happy with for 4-5 years.

I also need a decent USB subsystem. I'll often have 3 cameras, mouse/KB, a headset, an Arduino, and 2 external drives hooked up. Sometimes my Dell seems to have an issue with all that.

Here's what I'm thinking of:

=======

Microcenter bundle

i7-13700K (I won't be overclocking, but that's what the bundle has)

MSI Z790-P Pro WiFi Intel LGA 1700 ATX Motherboard

Ripjaws S5 Series 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR5-6000 PC5-48000 CL32 Dual Channel Desktop Memory Kit F5-6000J3238F16GX2-RS5K

Crucial T500 2TB TLC NAND PCIe Gen 4 x4 NVMe M.2 Internal SSD

Lian Li Lancool 216 Tempered Glass ATX Mid-Tower Computer Case - Black

Corsair RMx Series RM850x 850 Watt 80 Plus Gold ATX Fully Modular Power Supply

DeepCool AK400 Performance CPU Cooler - Black

Corsair TM30 Performance Thermal Paste

======

The power supply is probably overkill, but I may buy a big-boy graphics card some day. I'm going to start with an Intel ARC A380, which I already bought to put in my Dell.

I read somewhere that the Lian Li Lancool 216 is a pretty easy case to build in - any thoughts?

Finally, I have no interest in RGB or water cooling.

So, what does the collective wisdom of the Internet have to say? Any suggestions for changes?

Comments

• Lambdaben
    Lambdaben ✭✭✭
    100 Comments Second Anniversary 25 Likes 5 Answers

Hi @rdwells!