Beginner at building, looking for advice

Too start off this will be my first build. I had ordered a pre-built off amazon but with everything going on the company was unable to supply but im taking that as a blessing because i was on the fence of just building my own PC and this just confirms it. So what i need help with is pretty much what to buy, ive only ever used laptops so this will be a huge upgrade for myself. what i ordered off amazon is...

Ryzen 5 3600 3.6GHz, GTX 1650 4G, 500GB SSD, 8GB DDR4 3000MHz, RGB Fans, Windows 10 Home 64-bit, 802.11AC Wi-Fi

i want to upgrade that ryzen 5 to a ryzen 7 and more memory. i am a complete noob at this so if anyone likes to use the PC builder and point my in the right direction that would be great. im going to be searching more things on this forums and looking on the internet in general but i thought id try my luck on posting this and seeing if i strike gold. Thanks in advance. Also my budget is 1500$ more or less, it think thats a good starting point for my first build.

Comments

• so im looking and it seems to be that the ryzen 5 3600 might just be what i need and upgrading that right now can be just over kill
  • Hello @Tknewl25, welcome to the Micro Center Community!

I was about to say that a R7 3700X might be a bit over kill, but this depends on how you answer a few questions.  Are we including monitor and peripherals to the budget?  If you already have a monitor or are planning on getting one, what resolution is it?  1080P?  1440P?  Lastly, what are you mainly doing on your computer?  If gaming, what games do you plan on playing?  Are you looking to stream/content create as well?  When it comes to a computer build, it helps to figure out what you want to do with your build before building it.