My very first PC Build Help!

Options
Hi all,
This is my first time ever looking to get a PC over a console for gaming. I would love to hear input and suggestions on a pc build for around $1500-$2000, that can play games like COD, Apex, etc. When looking at all the options it gets very overwhelming quickly. I would love to have a good graphics card, and refresh rate. I am not interested in streaming, just gaming and utilizing the pc for work. Anyone have suggestions or builds they would recommend?
Thanks!

Comments

• TSTonyV
    TSTonyV ✭✭✭✭✭
    First Anniversary 5 Likes First Comment First Answer
    Options
    So at that price point you can build yourself a nice high-end system. If you're just gaming, we'll want to look at Intel for the CPU for the superior single-threaded performance and therefore an advantage in gaming scenarios. 

https://www.microcenter.com/site/content/custom-pc-builder.aspx?load=1d014c95-b6b4-4da8-997f-555ae9bedbc0

I intentionally left the GPU empty because NVIDIA just revealed the new RTX 3000 series, and we should hopefully see availability starting in mid and late September. It's shaping up to be a big improvement over the current 2000 series so I would 100% wait until they're on the market. The RTX 3070 will be around $500, the RTX 3080 will be around $700, so both those options will fit within your price range very well and be a good pairing while still leaving some wiggle-room. 

• AJfor3
    AJfor3
    First Comment
    edited September 2020
    Options
    Thank you so much! I definitely will wait for the new GPU’s to come out. A few more questions for you since I am very new to this process. 
    Would I need any extra cooling fans for a build like this? Or is the water cooling kit enough? 
    I also love the RGB lighting, what parts would you recommend RGB lighting for? 
    Lastly, what level of fps would you expect with a build like this and what type of gaming monitor would you recommend? 1440? 4K capable?
  • TSTonyV