Looking for advice on 1440 gaming PC build

Options
I'm looking for expert gaming PC advice on the build I put together.  I plan on gaming at 1440p resolution.  Ideally, I would like to be able to play Elder Scrolls 6 (whenever it drops) at max settings.  I don't plan on streaming or content creation.  Max, I would have music/discord (voice chat) running while I game.  My current computer has gone kaput so need a replacement relatively soon.  Some questions:
1. I'm thinking about waiting until the RTX 3080 drops. Will the 3700X bottleneck things at all?  Should I think about upgrading the CPU?  I'm no expert with AMD vs Intel.
2. Any better options on motherboard for a similar pricepoint?  I don't need WiFi.
3. RAM: is 32GB overkill? do I only need 16?
4. Is the powersupply overkill?
5. Videocard: is the RTX 3080 going to be worth it/overkill for this build? 
6. SSD: Is M.2 preferred over 2.5"?  Any other recommendations besides samsung for reliability?
7. Do I need a heat sink for the CPU?
8. Watercooling: I assume this would be needed for my build.  How does that factor into build cost?
9. Am I going to need an optical drive?
10. Case - I really don't care how the build looks, just want good performance. If there is a cheaper case that will work I'm all ears.

Comments

• PowerSpec_MikeW
    PowerSpec_MikeW PowerSpec Engineer
    5 Insightfuls First Anniversary First Comment 5 Awesomes
    Options
    Greetins.

1. While we don't have any confirmed information on the RTX 3000 series cards yet, I don't expect any card in the near future will bottleneck a 3700X. You don't need to be concerned about this.

2. There are several options, but I think that's a good board for the price point. I'd stick with it.

3. I would go with 32GB right now, the price isn't bad and the are games that can exceed 16GB, it's not common, but it exists.  Future proofing.

4. Only a little bit. It gives room to expand and keeps your load low. I wouldn't change it.