If you are thinking of going with a 3xxx card for MSFS2020 think again..

Options
Hi everyone,
       I am a real world private pilot and have been building PCs since the days of dos. I have been through every flight sim out there and it helped me greatly when obtaining my PPL and moving forward with an IFR endorsement. Let me explain that FS2020 is awesome but you do not need a 3000 series card to run it. I was in the tech alpha and learned alot on how the programming took place. Let me state the launch was a disaster and people were getting horrible frame rates unless they turned the settings down to mid. The sim wasn't optimized and in dev mode it would show vram limited. Nope...there were two patches. The 1st fixed installation issues and minor bugs but the 2nd patch is a 15gb update with new code. I went from being on high settings to ultra 35-40fps at 4k resolution. The sim still needs optimization. Next this sim is heavily dependent on CPU and even more so on your internet connection. Yes there are articles about the rolling cache and downloading off line. You are now probably wondering what I have for specs. First and foremost I am using M.2 nvme x2. 1tb is for the os and 2tb for games. You need fast read/write drives. I configured the pc for flight sim and games only. This means not even word is on my pc, no adobe products etc..I have nothing running in the background besides essentials. For CPU I have a 10900k installed in an aorus z490 master. I overclocked the 10900k to 5.1ghz fully stable on all cores continuous. I am using a 2080ti gpu. For cooling I did a custom hard tube loop. All fittings, rad, water blocks are ekwb. For ram I am running trident royal 128gb. Evga 1000w power supply. The gpu is not worth the price for fligh sim at this time. It's a marginal improvement but if you overclock the 2080ti you knock out the 3080. The only aspect of the 3080 that makes it great is the dlss and ray tracing. Until msfs2020 has code to really utilize it, it is