What is the best approach to put together a Raspberry Pi temperature logger?

I am contemplating a project to data log three temperature probes (K type) from a fermenter into a Raspberry Pi - directly into a spreadsheet with a graphical output.  I have no Pi experience, but from a crude search, I know it is possible.  I can handle the spreadsheet stuff, but I need help on what type of equipment to purchase (type of Pi, accessory boards, cables).  I have the K probes, a wireless keyboard and mouse.  I also have an old RGB TV that I'd like to use - which I understand can be hooked to a Pi.  Ultimately, I'd like to run some thermodynamic/fermentation modeling with the data - which I can do myself, probably with Python.  Of course, I could do this by buying some off the shelf stuff, but I'd like the challenge and I'd like to do it on the cheap. 

Answers

• PowerSpec_MikeW
    PowerSpec_MikeW PowerSpec Engineer
    First Anniversary First Comment 5 Awesomes 5 Up Votes
    Greetings @Bouvet

Hardware wise just, the sensors, wire, and you'll need a resistor for pull up. You're using it for a fermenter so I'd look at the Adafruit DS18B20. The wire is shrink wrapped and they include a 4.7K resistor. It's waterproofed. From there it's just wire and connecting the temperature sensors and resistor. 

As for the Raspberry Pi I'd buy the 3 B+. You don't necessarily need it but it's $25 for the 1GB version.

There are a few other things that would make it easier to assemble. I'd get a Pi Cobbler and a breadboard.
  • Thank you!  This helps.  I appreciate it.  Since I am happy with my k-type temperature probes for a couple of reasons.  How do I get them to connect to the Pi?  I see some small modules out there that seem to go between the probes and the Pi.  Are they needed?
  • PowerSpec_MikeW
    PowerSpec_MikeW PowerSpec Engineer
    First Anniversary First Comment 5 Awesomes 5 Up Votes
    @Bouvet