Atari Ultimate Fight Stick joystick mod

Complete noob here so please bare with me.  I just bought the Atari Ultimate Fight Stick (AUF) with trackball and built in Pi 3B+.  I'd like to swap out the 2nd player bat stick for a top fire joystick.  Does anyone know the best/ easiest way to do this?

Is there a USB top/ front fire stick that will work with no other modifications?  Ideally, I'd want a Tron stick, but these seem to be out of stock everywhere.  If not, I'd like to try to build my own using a hollow shaft.  There are multiple LED ball sticks that look like they might work for this purpose as they have hollow shafts.  Could I just remove the shaft from one of these, and swap it for the shaft that's in the AUF, then drill a hole through the top of a ball or bat for the switch?  Or will that not work due to the diameter/ length of the shaft? Is there a name/ model for the stick that's used in the UAF?  If so, I'd assume that a replacement LED version of the same model would work.  Or is there no industry standard and I'd just have to get measurements of the existing and replacement shaft?   Is there a better way to do this?

Any insight would be greatly appreciated. 

Comments

• Hello @kwil thanks for posting on the Microcenter Community Forum. Unfortunately there's no easy way to swap out the joysticks on the Atari Fight stick to the top Fire joystick. The top fire stick wasn't designed for the Atari Fight Stick system. You may be able to install a Top fire stick in an full atari arcade cabinet it.