Need Help Choosing Parts (Small Form Factor)

Here is my list of parts:https://www.microcenter.com/site/content/custom-pc-builder.aspx?load=3195cbe9-a729-4c41-a8ba-4fa4a7e95ae8

In the next couple of months I am planning on purchasing a similar PC. My main priority is small form factor, powerful PC that will last as long as possible. Any suggestions? I've done some research, but again, I'm new to this field, so my main concern is thermal throttling for a case this small with powerful parts. Any comments would be greatly appreciated!

Best,

Luke_S

Comments

• Greetings. What is the intended use of the PC and your overall budget?

• Luke_S
    Luke_S
    Name Dropper First Comment
    edited February 2021

@Ian Thanks for responding! Mainly gaming, maybe some CAD on the side (Solidworks mostly as I am a mechanical engineering student). I'm looking for the range of $2700-3000 just for the PC and then a budget of about $400 for the peripherals (including monitor).

• JS_MC
    JS_MC admin
    First Anniversary 5 Up Votes 5 Awesomes First Answer
    edited March 2021

Hey @Luke_S

Here's my build recommendation for you. https://www.microcenter.com/site/content/custom-pc-builder.aspx?load=b40081f3-5154-4b19-b16e-65834f313b59

I've included one monitor here and we're still under your budget. I think monitors and peripherals are something that you should consider shopping for yourself, as you may have a different preference for color accuracy or panel type. I'd recommend visiting the store to see the many options that we have on display.

My recommendations for a mouse and keyboard would be a full-size keyboard with Cherry MX Browns, and a mouse that fits the style you like to use. I like the Glorious Model D.

Please let me know if you have any questions about this build, I'd be happy to offer my opinion and offer any assistance regarding this!