Need Help Building a Budget PC For School / Work

Options

Hello,

I have recently been trying to build a PC that would do good for my school work which means this PC would have to be good for multitasking and I need speed as well. I have a budget on this PC as well($900 or less) but with still good parts. I have this PC built I am also very new to building PCs so I do not know what goes into a PC and if there is anything I can take out that wouldn't be necessary. Can someone suggest edits on this PC? It costs 1200 which is way too high for me.

https://www.microcenter.com/site/content/custom-pc-builder-intel.aspx?load=a06030e6-12d9-4fc7-baf0-006e4eb91287 ($1,248.82 and 237/650 wattage)

Comments

• TSPhillipT
    Options

Hello @invisible

Thank you for posting on the Micro Center Community!

I took a look at your build and there are definitely a few things I would change. Firstly, the biggest save of money is downgrading the processor. The i7 10700k is a great processor, but mainly aimed for gaming and I think a i5 10400 is more than enough for work and school.

It also comes with a stock fan so you can just use that rather than another cooling solution. I also removed some of the extra storage you had, and switched you to a nice Samsung 500GB Solid State Drive and a 2TB Seagate Hard Drive, a solid combo.

I also upgraded the ACER monitor you picked out, as I feel the standard monitor size at the minimum is 24 inches, and I removed the two Corsair Fans as they aren't needed and are unusable since you will need a Corsair Fan Controller to use them in the first place.

I also removed the Internal CD Drive you picked out as your case does not support it.

Here is the final build, at $865 before tax.

https://www.microcenter.com/site/content/custom-pc-builder.aspx?load=6b1b9132-9865-40ee-a681-c74cff797917

• invisible
    Options