Practical guide for buying projectors (3LCD or DLP/4K or not?)

Options
logostech
logostech
First Comment
edited June 2021 in General Discussion

I have been using video projectors for over 15 years. My most recent one was a Mitsubishi WD3300U. I was pretty happy with it until it broke and would like to replace it with something at least as good.

I know that I want at least HD but I wonder if a 4K would even be worth the extra cost. My projection room never gets that dark in the day, so I need one with higher lumens. The 4K you have, Epson Home Cinema 4010 4K UHD 3LCD Projector, only has 2400 lumens. I am comparing this to the Epson Home Cinema 1450 1080p Projector which has 4200 lumens.

I see that you have 2 refurbished Epson Home Cinema 1450 1080p Projectors at your Overland Park store. Can you tell me if those have new bulbs?

I am projecting on a screen that is only 72 inches diagonally. (less for a 16:9 picture) The screen is only 65 inches across. It is important that whatever projector I get can fill that width from approximately a 14 foot throw; so the zoom feature is important.

My most recent projector was DLP. I know there is a different way that DLP and 3LCD use specs for contrast and lumens but I can't remember how that is. I see a DLP, Viewsonic PX701HD 3,500 ANSI Lumens 1080p Projector, that is very reasonably priced. What do I get for the money compared to the more expensive 3LCD projector?

Another thing that is important to me is for the projector to be quiet. I do not see any ratings in your specs for the noise level on your projectors.

I am wanting to buy a projector today at your Overland Park Kansas store. What are your recommendations (and why) for projectors you have available at that store. Obviously, getting an answer to this ASAP is essential, because of that.

Thanks

Comments

• Ian
    Ian admin
    First Anniversary 5 Insightfuls 5 Likes 5 LOLs
    edited May 2021
    Options

Greetings,