AMD - Ryzen 9 5950X Build

Options
Mr__Wolf__
edited May 2021 in Help Choosing Parts

Hi,

I am new to building PC. I am not into gaming but need a high performance desktop computer with hyper-v to run some linux applications under VM. I need at-least 10+ cores of CPU juice. So I selected AMD 9 5950X CPU but I am not sure about other parts. I would appreciate some help if any of you pros can look at this build and provide your feedback. My budget is ~2k. I do not need GPU/monitor/mice/keyboards and all those other jazz etc. Thank you in advance.

Thank you!

Comments

• TS_JosephF
    Options

Hello @Mr__Wolf__

Welcome to the Micro Center community!

All of the parts you selected look like they will make a great Hyper-V Server. Here are a few suggestions I have:

1) You may want to consider getting another pair of the 16 GB RAM sticks you selected. Although 32 GB will likely do you just fine for now (depending on how many VMs you are running at once). Since you have a 16-core CPU, you could consider adding this pair as it would give you another pair of dual-channel memory, which can certainly improve the performance of the VMs. Especially if they are running a memory heavy application. Having 64 GB of RAM would allow you to allocate 4 GB of RAM per CPU core, as opposed to just 2 GB per core.

2) I noticed you also selected a 2.5" SATA SSD and not a 2nd M.2 SSD. Which is perfectly fine. It would be a matter of preference. If you plan on running your VMs on the 2.5" SSD, then you should consider installing a 2nd M.2 SSD instead. The board you selected has 2 M.2 slots. It would run the VMs quite a bit faster this way. Especially when it comes to the initial setup, boot times, starting up applications, etc.

3) The case you selected does not actually support a 240mm AIO. I switched the case to a Lian Li 205M. It is around the same price, and supports a 240mm AIO on the front and top of the case.