ASUS X570 BIOS hangs on raid level selection

Hello, I've been dealing with setting up a raid volume for my build and I feel like I've exhausted every scant bit of information I could find on my situation. 

I recently purchased two 4tb Samsung 870 Evo drives with the intent to pair them up in a raid 0 array.

They both have power, and are connected via sata to motherboard. (forgive the remidial nature of my description, I'm not an expert.) 

My build currently, assuming relevancy:

Ryzen 7 5800x 

ASUS Dark Hero x570 (BIOS version unsure, at work currently- have not flashed anything yet) 

(2) Samsung 980 PRO M.2 SSD (in RAID 0)

(2) Samsung 870 EVO SSD (Discoverable in bios, but not formatted)

(Let me know if anything else is relevant) 

I open up my BIOS, navigating to the create array menu, and when I toggle the drop down menu for what raid level I want, the BIOS hangs, requiring a restart to resume computer function.

I've only tried different sata ports as far as troubleshooting is concerned.

The information I've gathered on my problem is scant: only few mentions of... Flashing firmware for motherboard, and other suggestions of specifically flashing raid firmware. I've not explored these options for fear of losing my OS raid volume.

I'm unsure how to proceed, I could use information on what the aforementioned tips will do to my OS array.

Thank you for any information you might share. 

Comments

• Hello @zenleo and thanks for posting on the Microcenter Community Forum. We're assuming you have a ASUS ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero mobo, is that correct?

Do you already have an existing Raid Array configured and are trying to create a new one?

Is so, you'll have to delete the existing array before setting up a new one.

Are your drives SATA connecting SSD's? If so you'll need to change your SATA mode to RAID in the bios. Raid configuration guide below.