PowerSpec G900 CTDs and BSOD while playing games

TangoCheesecake
edited October 2021 in General Discussion

Hi, I purchased a G900 last week and have been having some problems since then, primarily involving CTDs and BSODs. The BSODs have all been for various reasons (all have occured while playing games) and the game crashes seem to occur at random. I was initially thinking that maybe I was having a PSU issue, that the issues were specifically related to New World (but it has happened in various games now), and/or that the issues have been driver related--but I am honestly not sure at this point since I am not an expert. Crashes have been happening enough that it is becoming an annoyance, and I would like to try and resolve the issues sooner rather than later (and, although this may not be avoidable, without driving to a Micro Center since the nearest one is a 4 hour round trip).

I have been checking the reliability history and the event viewer, but I am not exactly sure how to read them. I do know that, with respect to the reliability history, not all crashes are showing up (at least not for New World). Again, however, this is not strictly a New World issue as the CTDs have been occurring in other games, though the BSODs have primarily been related to New World.

Finally, with respect to potential driver issues I have check as many drivers as I can and have made sure that they are updated. I have also made sure that Windows is updated and have numerous scans through the the Command Prompt (which initially found and fixed some apparent Windows issues, but this did not fix the crashing or BSODs). Finally, I tried the Windows Driver Verifier, which put me in a boot loop before I was finally able to get out of it, which suggests to me that there is a driver issue at least somewhere (again, however, I am definitely not an expert--when I used the Driver Verifier I only checked non-Microsoft drivers).