Please review my son's first build

Hi,
My son is looking to build his first gaming PC. My Pc experience goes all the way back to 5 1/4" floppy disks and 20 Meg hard drives, so although I have some knowledge of PC's I'm not in tune with the needs of a PC gamer. So, if you could review his list and let me know what you think, that would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.microcenter.com/site/content/custom-pc-builder.aspx

Some things not on his list include his 27" LG Gaming Monitor (144 Mhz), Red Dragon gaming keyboard, Rival 600 Steel series mouse. We will also move his 320 GB SSD that will run the OS, a Samsung Evo 1 TB SSD for most games, and Seagate 2 TB HD for games not played frequently. The more graphically intense games he plays include Modern Warfare, Rust, GTFO, Arma 3, and Metro Exodus. He also plays other games like Minecraft, Terraria, and Sea of Thieves to name a few. 

My questions include:
  1. The motherboard (X570) is not available in many places. Should he consider another or wait till his choice or a suitable alternative is available (suggestions for alternatives are welcome).
  2. The CPU comes with a cooler which I've read is quite capable. Is the liquid cooler really necessary now or potential upgrade if needed later?
  3. My understanding of video cards is that there could be many variations of the same card. Outside of the cards RAM, number of fans, and overclock ability, how do you decide? What do you think of his choice?
Thanks for the advice,
Gary

Comments

• TSTonyV
    TSTonyV ✭✭✭✭✭
    First Anniversary 5 Likes First Comment First Answer
    Hello @GaryP! Welcome to the Community. 

The link you posted doesn't actually link to your build, so we can't see the parts. On the build configurator you actually need to click "share" first, then click URL to copy the specific URL for your build. 

Once you do that and paste the link, we'll be able to see your parts!
  • PowerSpec_MikeW
    PowerSpec_MikeW PowerSpec Engineer