Need Help Choosing Parts

SunBro_18
SunBro_18
First Comment
edited December 2020 in Help Choosing Parts
I put this parts list together and am looking for some advice. I am an animation student and this is my first build, I don't really know what I am doing. I'm trying to stay under $2000, I work mainly in Maya, Blender, and Unity. I want to use an air cooler for my CPU instead of water just because I am worried about leaking. I'll take any advice on any parts, my main concern is storage/memory and not crashing my system! Any help would be much appreciated. 
https://www.microcenter.com/site/content/custom-pc-builder.aspx?load=b6ac0592-5e11-4d0e-8628-bebd8e9e5f10

Comments

• Hello @SunBro_18

Thank you for posting on the Micro Center Community!  

The build you have is looking good!  It's good for the rendering software that you are doing, with just a few changes that I would make to it.  The first change is removing the CPU Cooler as your 3700X will come with a stock Wraith Prism Cooler which is a pretty good cooler for the 3700X.  The next change is removing the 500Gb Samsung 860 EVO SSD 2.5''.  The main reason is that HDDs makes great secondary storage devices, as you aren't really needing the speed for secondary storage unless you have plans on editing high resolution videos.  
  • Okay, I took the advice you gave, I am also curious how you feel about the GeForce RTX 3060 Ti GPU, my friend suggested a GeForce GTX 1070. Also, do you have an HDD you recommend for my build?
  • Here is a comparison between the two GPUs; https://gpu.userbenchmark.com/Compare/Nvidia-RTX-3060-Ti-vs-Nvidia-GTX-1070/4090vs3609

I would look at the 3060Ti if you are using your GPU for rendering as well as having plans for gaming as well.