3D Artist Here

A_aronical
edited June 2021 in General Discussion

Hey, I'm a 3D Artist trained in animation in various programs including Modo, Maya, Cinema 4D, Mari, Mudbox, Zbrush, and others. If anyone has any questions, I'm willing to provide resources for people interested in this area.

Comments

• Hello @A_aronical and thanks for posting on the Microcenter Community Forum. Thanks for being open to sharing resources and tools with the community for those interested in 3D animation. I would be interested to know. For a beginning 3D animator who is just starting out, what free 3D animation software and tutorial sites would you recommend to download and install to learn 3D Animation?

• As far as free things go. Blender is the biggest free animation software, and it's pretty competitive with the big-name software. Even when I was learning Maya, it had features that weren't in that version of Maya as a default, despite Maya being the industry standard in many companies.

As for resources; you can't beat the main website:

There are great tutorials by Blender Guru, Grant Abbit, Blender Guru, and Yansculpts on youtube.

Also, if you're ever interested in preparing for the industry-standard in sculpting tools aka Pixologic's Zbrush; they have software known as Zbrush Core Mini (Previously Sculptris), but for most people, Blender's sculpting tools are just as good in the right hands.

And if you cannot afford some form of Photoshop (especially with its shift to a monthly subscription) then Gimp is a long-time alternative that complements Blenders texture tools.

Blender has some editing tools as well, but the free version of Davinci Resolve is a good start for many.

• A_aronical
    edited March 2021

I would love to, but my posts don't seem to be going through. Perhaps I am mentioning some software or links that the system doesn't like, and it's auto-deleting my posts?

• Ian
    Ian admin
    5 Insightfuls 5 Likes First Anniversary 5 LOLs