Sound crackling on laptop (through external sources, multiple USB slots)

Options

Hello everyone!

I'm new here, so hopefully I don't make any big blunders on my first post. But I've been having an audio issue with my Asus VivoBook S512. Whenver I am listening to music, the audio tends to cut out or crackle to the point that it's unlistenable. This is not a consistent sound, and goes in and out with use. I am using an external audio interface (Behringer UMC202HD), and have tried troubleshooting everything I can think of. I've replaced the speaker cables, the USB ports that the interface is plugged into, the studio speakers, the app running sound (now using Voicemeeter), and there has been no change. I'm assuming that this is a problem within the actual computer, but that is above my knowledge level. Can anyone help me out or point me to a direction that might help me solve the problem? I'm a music teacher, so I really do need my audio to be working.

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• TSTDavey
    Options

Hello @Dartanion and welcome to the Microcenter Community Forum. Good first post and question. We don't bite here so please come back again if we an help. We have a few question to better understand how to troubleshoot this. The Behringer interface, is it near another computer separate from the Vivobook? Another question is, how does the Vivobook speakers sound without using any external devices? Last question, have you attempted updated your audio card drivers? Let us know.

• Dartanion
    Options

Hello TSTDavey!