Professional Derivatives Trader Needs Six Monitors - how to do it?

Options

I'm a full-time trader....it's what I do for a living.

My current computer has a Gigabyte motherboard Z97X-SLI, an i7 4790k 4.0 Ghz Intel processer, and a GTX 970 video card that runs three 27" ASUS monitors. I'm finding that I would be more productive if I had six monitors. My question to everyone is how best to go about that. I don't want to change computers as all my software is installed and configured the way I want it on the one I have now.

If my goal is to upgrade to 6 monitors, how do I go about it? I was considering two new video cards and six new monitors (and probably a power supply), but I can only buy one card at Micro Center due to their limitations.

What are my options?

(1) A bigger graphics card rather than two smaller ones (probably more than I need as I'm not a gamer) and a get a splitter to run 6 monitors off one card

(2) One graphics card from Micro Center and buy a second matching card from a scalper. If so, what cards should I consider? I display charts on three monitors, my brokerage internet sites on two monitors, and the sixth one will stream financial news (CNBC). This is not nearly as demanding as the gamers and bitcoin miners but I'm not sure how big a card(s) to buy. My GTX 970 card runs this fine on three screens (but of course I can only look at half of the items at a time)

(3) Is there another way that I haven't considered?

Thanks!

Comments

• magarity
    magarity ✭✭✭✭
    First Anniversary 5 Up Votes First Comment First Answer
    edited October 2021
    Options