new computer build, question

Options
TheHobbled987
edited March 2022 in Help Choosing Parts

hello.

several months ago, purchased two dell 3450 small form factors, 16 gigs, 512 ssd, - short version, horror story, machines kept freezing, ended up filing Better busines Bureau complaint after 100+ hours of phone diagnostics (documented on ATT log,) 150+ interactions with bsic tech support, and 100+ emails to escalated. they finally are issueing refund. All i wanted were two machines that worked. I've had dell's before. but these kept freezing, no keyboard, mouse, etc. They even shipped me a replacement, and the VIDEO CARD on that did not even register at bootup, and they told me i had to do more diagnostics (I have 40+ years of computer experience).

I would like to possibly get two computers (i help my sister with hers, so we get mirrored computers) - similar form factor to the dell 3450 small form factor - decent intel processor, 16 gig memory, 512 SSD or card, whtaever, and space for second SATA SSD drive, as we have 1tb drives to insert, for data storage. decent onboard video (no additional card needed), but space for additional card down the road, if we wanted. decent number of usb 3 ports, etc, etc, and windows 11 PRO so we can use bitlocker.

if we spec this out, how does the warranty/exchane work

IF MIcRO CENTER builds it

or

if WE build it?

i do not want to be using this machine, and in about a month have it freeze multiple times, and then be told i have to do 100's of hours of diagnostics. The software i install (and had installed on the new dell's) was same software that had been on the OLDER RELIABLE dells that we were using, and those machines were very reliable, and not freezing.

I am just paranoid at getting a new machine and going through what we we just went through.

anyway, any feedback appreciated

nick

Answers

• PowerSpec_MikeW
    PowerSpec_MikeW PowerSpec Engineer
    5 Insightfuls First Anniversary First Comment 5 Awesomes
    Options