4090 RTX Help - crashing/black screen unless set to 'prefer max performance'

Hi all, first caveat I have never built a PC before and just did so for the first time so I am still learning about how things work, so if I say anything wrong please forgive me. I did build it with a friend who has done it many times before so I am not too worried that I did something drastically wrong.

The issue I am having is that my set up seems to randomly crash to a black screen. Sometimes this happens before I can even log in, usually it takes around 15-20 minutes, sometimes it takes 1-2 hours. I have to manually press the power button to turn it off and then power it back on again. Sometimes the audio from the computer itself is distorted/delayed when this happens. The interesting this is that this does not happen when I am playing anything intensive, in fact it only seems to happen while I am idling, surfing the web, watching videos, calling a friend. etc. I have been checking the the temperature of the graphics card and CPU regularly and they are definitely not overheating. One other random thing to note that is probably not relevant is that when I turn the power supply itself on (not the computer) the LEDs on the fans flash for a brief moment and then turn off. Everything then runs as normal after that. Windows event viewer always returns the same errors when this happens: Event ID 63, Event ID 41, keyword (70368744177664),(2) and bugcheckCode 278.