NOOB looking for advice.

Hey Folks,
I'm done with apple and throw-away systems that I can't upgrade after a few years.
I want a solid desktop / workstation PC for Adobe Illustrator, photoshop editing as well as some general 1080 video editing and light 4k.
Looking for a build with intent to last and upgrade in future.
I'm a total noob when it comes to PC's and although I've already started to go down the graphic card rabbit hole I'm still pretty much clueless. I don't know how you folks are able to keep up with that. My respect goes out to all you GPU
nerds.

One thing to know is I'm not a gamer and will not be using the system for that purpose.
I have a budget of $2000
So here are my questions:
1. Is a Core i9 or Ryzen 9 3900x good value for money compared to latest Gen i7?
2. Given that Im not a gamer, what card would you recommend if any. (I had a budget in mind of $400, maybe a Radeon RX 5700, a Quadro P4000 or even a good version of a GTX 1060
3. I'm a bit concerned about my ability to perform the actual build... not so much the physical aspect of it but more of the fact I lack the knowledge. Should I be attempting to do this myself? If not, can you recommend someone who can perform this build on my behalf.?

Thanks
Mario

Comments

• @kasedillz said:
    Hey Folks,
    I'm done with apple and throw-away systems that I can't upgrade after a few years.
    I want a solid desktop / workstation PC for Adobe Illustrator, photoshop editing as well as some general 1080 video editing and light 4k.
    Looking for a build with intent to last and upgrade in future.
    I'm a total noob when it comes to PC's and although I've already started to go down the graphic card rabbit hole I'm still pretty much clueless. I don't know how you folks are able to keep up with that. My respect goes out to all you GPU
    nerds.

One thing to know is I'm not a gamer and will not be using the system for that purpose.
    I have a budget of $2000
    So here are my questions: