Gaming system - brand new build - not able to keep Windows running - can't boot to BIOS

Van
Van
Name Dropper First Comment
edited May 2020 in Your Completed Builds
I am a newbie for building my own gaming computer.  So .... I built the system out - very slowly, because I wanted to be sure I didn't screw anything up.  Following advice from a friend, I purchased a SSD for a hard drive rather than buying a SATA hard drive. When it came time to turn it on, all seemed right. All the lights came on and the fans started. I was happy. I installed a brand new version of Windows 10. All seemed right there. I set everything up on my desk, plugged in all my peripherals, logged into Windows and began installing personal software. It ran for about a 1/2 hour and then suddenly Windows stops cold, the monitor goes blank and Windows returns to the login screen. This happened a couple more times, but eventually I couldn't even get my monitor to recognize a signal from the GPU.  Thinking it was a Windows install issue, I took out the SSD and installed my old SATA hard drive (which has a good version of Windows on it).  After several shutdowns and resets, I was somehow able to get to the BIOS screen and set the new hard drive as the boot drive. Couldn't get it to boot. Back to the BIOS screen. Set the setting for AUTO CLR_CMOS to ENABLED. Rebooted. Windows loaded from my old SATA hard drive and seemed stable. I started installing motherboard utilities from the MSI installation CD. Windows stops cold again and restarts in the middle of the network adapter download/install.  As it is now, I can't get back to the BIOS and can't get Windows to boot.  The monitor does not see the GPU.  I have rechecked all the cables, unconnecting and reconnecting them.  I checked that they were firmly attached to the back of the power supply.  I have removed and reseated the GPU and even moved it to a different slot.  I removed and reseated both RAM sticks (in slots 2 & 4).
COMPONENTS LIST: