Racing Rig Recs: a Champion's Guide to the Ultimate Racing Setup

Options
This discussion has a more recent version.

Written by @BenjaminLaRocque125

When I first started gaming as a child, I began with Need for Speed III: Hot Pursuit for the PlayStation. As soon as I crossed the finish line, I felt the rush of adrenaline as I was jumping for joy. Since then, I've not just loved gaming, but racing games. From there, I graduated to Forza Motorsport 4 with my car enthusiast friends. I spent hours on the Fujimi Kaido Old Down Hill course. The scenery of the downhill mountain roads mixed with the roar of the engines, tire screeches, and blowing wind was addicting. As I matured, I felt the overwhelming need to pursue my interest in racing before diving fully into racing simulation.

Lately I been having fun in Assetto Corsa on highway servers splitting traffic in my favorite cars. I've got a pretty solid simulation rig setup, including a real nice gear driven motor system, but I know that some day I want to upgrade to the smoothness and accuracy of a direct drive wheel. And to that effect, here's what my ideal racing simulation setup would look like!

Racing Rig Recommendations

Moza R5 Direct Drive Sim Racing Bundle

The Moza R5 bundle features a direct drive wheel. If you're unsure what that means, it essentially gives more detailed, realistic feedback as the steering shaft is connected to a three-phase brushless AC servomotor. I love this direct drive wheel because it operates at 5.5 Newton-meters of torque - the perfect amount, in my opinion. While there are higher powered direct drive wheels available, I find that anything about 5.5 is just too much power. Plus, the wheel just feels absolutley incredible to use thanks to high-quality leather and the aluminum alloy base.

The pedals bundled in are definitely good - perfect if you're looking to get set up with a single bundle - but if we're shooting for the moon, Moza has an even better set of pedals available.