Building Your Own Racing Sim: A Beginners Introduction

Options
This discussion has a more recent version.
MicroCenterOfficial
edited August 2023 in Computer Hardware

Written by @Vaganza

I have a lot of experience with computers, and I mean a lot. I did the calculations and, in my 19+ year career in the service department in the Sharonville store, I officially crossed the 8,000 custom PC mark sometime this year. I have built a lot of gaming PCs for folks and have had great luck with them running well for everyone. I have done plenty of custom hard tube systems. Even outside of Micro Center I have designed, specified, installed, and programmed completely custom AV installations for churches, theaters, and parks. So, when I was approached to write about putting together a racing rig for our readers, I jumped at the chance but also realized that there is a lot that I don’t know. Like, do I need to fasten the thing to the floor? Are seatbelts required? And do I need to consider cup holders when putting this together? 

I know a lot of other people are in this same place; they know a lot about the technology that goes into a gaming computer but have never needed to consider a highly specialized set of components, nor question whether it would impact the PC itself. So come along and learn with me while I dig into what a new racer would need for a racing rig.

The Computer:

Let’s start with the parts that we know the most about (and have several guides for): a gaming PC that everything plugs into. And the key there is “plugs into” – you’ll be hooking up a lot of USB devices, so you’ll either need a motherboard with lots of ports, or you might need to get a USB hub (powered, preferably).