My download speeds are maxing out at 16-17mbps. Is there a way to fix this?

Morough
Morough
First Comment
edited September 2020 in General Discussion
Hello, I recently built my first gaming PC and it is a beast. I am plugged in directly to my modem/router (I have a modem and a router, I have switched between the two and they show similar results). Whenever I test for internet speeds on my PC it maxes out at 16-17mbps. I have switched the medium that allows internet access, the ethernet cables (from cat 5-e, 6, and 8) I've tried wifi and it all shows the same results. So I then thought it was an issue with my drivers. I updated all drivers and nothing. I googled what to do in this situation and I've done the command prompts, the firewall cycling on and off, made sure PnP something or other was disabled. IpV-4 and 6 ( i think im still new to computers and the like ) was turned off or disabled. I even lowered the maximum bandwidth that slows down internet connection ( it was set to 80 percent )
Notable mentions are that I haven't yet purchased Windows 10 home, im waiting until my next paycheck to buy it.
My phone on the same internet is showing 150mbps, my laptop is showing around 360mbps and my roommates PC is showing ~600-750mbps.
AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
RTX 2080 super
ASUS ROG STRIX X570-E Gaming (Wi-FI)
36Gb ram
1Tb storage
Thank you for you help or input

Best Answer

Answers

• Morough said: