Just purchased a Power Spec PC and I'm lost

Slow_Joe
Slow_Joe
edited February 2021 in General Discussion

So happy as a complete noob, to have this great PC but I want to take the time to understand each component and figure out how to monitor them. Got the G467 with i9 processor, 3800 GPU. It seems to have come completely updated in windows. I made a recovery usb drive. I'm going to install the OEM eset smart security and Nord VPN. I want to get some more basic programs on it before I create a flash system image.

-First up, it came with a 750 watt bronze PSU, (a little disappointed this came with the G467.) I have a 800 watt Gold full modular I can swap out, but was thinking of going one step further and buying a PSU with LINK, because I am interested in monitoring the power use. Is there another way to monitor with what I have?

-I'd like to identify each component/manufacturer.

-I'm also interested in monitoring the GPU and am thinking I have to use After Burner. I need to understand overclocking, ect.

-For my son to game, I'm thinking of looking into steam. He really only plays Rocket League, Minecraft and Roblox. He has a PS5 so I don't see much urgency in getting this going.

-I bought a strip of addressable RGB LED Strip (60cm) to get more light in there. (SO COOL!)

-All in all, great computer but being a noob, I'm not just jumping in and what to understand and enjoy the process. Any help towards resources would be appreciated. I didn't see anything on ProSpec, like a starter guide.

Comments

• Hello @Slow_Joe

Thank you for posting on the Micro Center Community! I have moved your thread to the "Technical Support" section of the forum as I felt this was best placed here.

I will also address each question or concern you have as well!