49 in Ultra Wide Curved Monitor

CClark63
CClark63
Name Dropper First Comment
edited June 2021 in Peripherals

Hi. Let me start with, I'm not that technical savvy.

I have been working with a dual monitor setup and someone recently turned me on to the 49 inch Ultra Wide Monitors. My COVID related home setup is actually two (2) Vizio TV's which work fine. I am looking for the best value monitor for working pretty much exclusively, not gaming. It appears the Dell Ultra Sharp and the Samsung Odyssey are two of the best options, however also the most expensive.

I'm at a point of impatience, so am looking to get something in place like today. I can get the Dell Ultra Sharp through my companies account for a very reasonable cost, however have to wait 2 to 3 weeks for arrival.

One Micro Center has an open box deal on a Dell Ultra Sharp while the closer Micro Center has other models in stock that I think would be less costly and still give me the desired result. Like the AOC AG493UCX or the ASUS XG49VQ . I don't think I want to settle for a 43 inch curved monitor, however I am a bit intrigued by the price of the 43 In non-curved LED Monitors such as the Acer DM431K. at less than half the price of some of these others I have been curious if it is any good.

Is the Open Box Model of the Dell Ultra Sharp worth the extra $100 - $300, plus an additional 1.50 hours in the car?

The one thing I have figured out is ideally the monitor will have good software built in for managing the screens with multiple program windows open... and not many monitors do. There is also the case of the KVM switch which is not a critical component for me, however would be nice, just in case, if it happened to have one. but it is not a determining factor.

I will be hooking the monitor up to my laptop: HP Spectre X360, if that is relevant.

Thank you in advance for your help

Comments

• Hello @CClark63 Welcome to the community!

I was able to find a 49" a bit cheaper than the two you mentioned.