PC won't boot all 4 RAMs

Options
cdotlu
cdotlu ✭✭
First Anniversary First Comment Name Dropper

Hi everyone! Trying to figure out my RAM issue and this is my first build.

TLDR; 2 sets of rams. Same model. Same brand. Set A is Aug 2020. Set B is replacement pair, Apr 2021. Each ram stick and each slot works perfectly. It boots only in pairs, but not all 4 at once.

Let me know if you need more details:

AMD Ryzen 9 3950X Matisse 3.5GHz 16-Core AM4 Boxed Processor

ASUS B550-F ROG Strix Gaming (WiFi) AMD AM4 ATX Motherboard

2x G.Skill Ripjaws V 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4-3200 PC4-25600 CL16 Dual Channel Desktop Memory Kit F4-3200C16D-32G - Black

I had a pair of faulty RAM sticks that I had RMA-ed and replaced. For some strange reason, the new pair will not boot when all 4 slots are in. I tested each pair in different slots and they work perfectly. So I'm still stuck at 32GB instead of my usual 64GB RAM for work.

Both pairs are the same brand, same product number so I'm not sure what's going on. It was a simple replacement. My next step is contacting G. SKill support but curious what everyone else thinks?

Thanks!

Answers

• Ian
    Ian admin
    First Anniversary 5 Insightfuls 5 Likes 5 LOLs
    Options

Greetings. The best way to get a better idea on the issue would to be to try each stick of RAM one at a time in each RAM slot, and try to boot the PC, to see if there is perhaps a bad stick or a bad RAM slot.

• cdotlu
    cdotlu ✭✭
    edited April 2021
    Options

thanks @Ian, all slots work perfectly and each ram stick is fine.

the weird issue is... when I insert all 4 at once - it won't boot. but it can boot in pairs.

i originally had 4 at once before until I found a faulty RAM stick. does this have something do to with the BIOs? i never touched anything in there but few folks are telling me to enable XMP or enable DOCP. I'm not sure what that means?

• Ian
    Ian admin
    Options