Need help optimizing this build

Options
Hello! This is my first time looking into a custom built pc and using the microcenter builder. I think for the most part, the parts here are compatible but please let me know if I screwed up somewhere.

My biggest concern right now is cooling and power. Currently I still use an old Predator 17 laptop for gaming but when the CPU / GPU reaches 80 C/44 C it starts to struggle and sounds horrible. It can't stay cool for longer gaming sessions for the games I generally play. So you see I'm a bit paranoid on the cooling. Is the current set up sufficient for the current CPU/GPU or should I make some changes. I think the power should be ok now, after I swapped from a 6900 to a 6800 but let me know.

If there's any advice, any kind at all, please let me know! There is no hard budget on this one but I'm trying to keep it around the 3k mark with the assembly service. 

(I'm not buying Win 11 pro either, home edition is out of stock at my store, lol)

Comments

• magarity
    magarity ✭✭✭✭
    First Anniversary 5 Up Votes First Comment First Answer
    Options

Your laptop needs one of these: Cooler Master NotePal X-Lite II Slim Laptop Cooling Pad - Micro Center

Works great, I used one with my gaming laptop and it makes a big difference.

As for your parts list, you selected a glass front case? Please switch that for a "mesh" type. If you really want that DVD drive then you'll need an entirely different case anyway since those 011's don't have 5.25 bays.

If you primarily play games then you'll be happier with the 5800X3D. The 5950X is not a gaming CPU. The gaming profiles in Adrenaline/Ryzen Master all turn off one CCD with a 5950X. Because as fast as CCD <-> CCD communication is, it's faster and better when gaming to have all the threads on the same one. So, buy a 5950X only if your use case needs that many cores for something that isn't gaming.